. . .

Gold Star Standards of Excellence

We are excited to announce the addition of the Maine Tobacco-Free Behavioral Health Network Gold Star Standards of Excellence recognition program starting in 2017!

The Gold Star Standards of Excellence is an annual voluntary recognition program of 10 evidence-based, environment-specific standards for organizations to meet through written, sustainable policies and procedures. The goal of the program is to encourage, support and recognize Maine’s behavioral health organizations that are addressing smoking and tobacco use by creating and maintaining smoke and tobacco-free policies. Behavioral health organizations and providers seek to optimize the health of clients and employees. Tobacco-free policies are examples of this commitment that benefits clients, employees, and the entire community.

All behavioral health organizations are encouraged to apply annually. Organizations that meet a minimum of six (6) of the ten (10) standards will be recognized with an award during a celebration event.

6-7 Standards: Bronze level
8-9 Standards: Silver level
10 Standards: Gold level

Annual Program Timeline

Program announcement- April
Applications due- May
Awards celebration event- June